Folksinger

Album | 1962 | Dave Von Ronk


25/10/2023

Favourite Track: Come Back Baby

came for cocaine blues stayed for the vibe very nice album

rating: 8.3/10

4D Country

Album | 2023 | Geese


12/11/2023

Favourite Track: 4D Country, Art Of War, Jesse, Killing My Borrowed Time, Space Race (aka, the whole album is great)

rating: 8.8/10

Childs Play

Movie | 1988 | Tom Holland


21/11/2023

Wanted to watch a three star horror movie and thats what I saw.

rating: 6.3/10

The Secret History

Book | 1992 | Donna Tartt


22/11/2023

great book, excellent, huge fan

rating: 9.8/10

The Hunger Games:A Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

Movie | 2023 | Francis Lawrence


22/11/2023

hey good movie. liked the evil scientist lady, glad that snow still sucked,d, definitly ready to read the book now, put it down like 15 pages in when it came out because snow pissed me off too much but i'm stronger than all that now.

rating: 7.9/10

The Hunger Games

Book | 2008 | Suzanne Colins


23-24/11/2023

a classic as always

rating: 8.5/10

Get Lonely

Album | 2006 | The Mountain Goats


24/11/2023

Favourite Track: Get Lonely, Woke Up New, Moon Over Goldsboro, In The Hidden Places

I always love every Mountain Goats album of course, I had heard Get Lonely before but I had 3 listens today and it grew on me even more. This album is beautiful and sorrowful and mountain and goats.

and I will come back home,

maybe call some friends

maybe paint some pictures

it all depends.

and I will get lonely and gasp for air.

rating: 8.1/10

Heretic Pride

Album | 2008 | The Mountain Goats


24/11/2023

Favourite Tracks: Lovecraft In Brooklyn, Sax Rhomer #1, Autoclave, How To Embrace a Swamp Creature

Again, I have listened to this album before but I listened a couple of times on cd again today and felt that it warranted a log. This album is another awesome one, was glad to spend more time with it today. Equally as good as Get Lonely but with its own distinct palette and flavour as all Mountain Goats albums have. I appreciate the sax presence on this record too, not as jazzy as Dark In Here (a favoured Mountain Goats album for me as a bit of a jazz freak) but the presence of that essence on this album is exciting.

Lovecraft In Brooklyn is a smasher of course. In my mind this song is atmospherically intertwined with later tracks like Rain In Soho (from Goths), but this may have more to do with the space within the tracks. They both feel so large in a way that forces acknowledgement from the listener.

It is always a joy to listen in full to Mountain Goats albums that I have picked off in the past. Before I ever listened to this whole album I loved Sax Rhomer #1 and Autoclave and those songs remain favourites of mine off this record. I dont know whether its purely time spent or just the impact of those songs in particular (probably both) but they have always stuck with me as their own individual pieces of art, and though I love them as just that, it is always nice to see songs in the contexts of their entire albums. I find this particularly with the Mountain Goats, as the whole records only bolster the potentials of great single tracks.

I start to sweat I can't cool down

I'm scared of all the strangers in this town

I try to tell you just why I've come

It's like I've got molasses on my tongue

I made it through town somehow

But who's going to save me now?

I'm out of my element I can't breathe

I'm out of my element

I can't breathe

Was going to fight the urge to add Autoclave lyrics as well but remembered that this is my website and I may do as I please

When I try to open up to you, I get completely lost

Houses swallowed by the earth, windows thick with frost

And I reach deep down within, but the pathways twist and turn

And there's no light anywhere, and nothing left to burn

And I am this great, unstable mass of blood and foam

And no emotion that's worth having could call my heart its home

My heart's an autoclave

rating: 8.2/10

Crawlspace

Movie | 1986 | David Schmoeller


25/11/2023

I don't really have shit to say about this movie to be honest. Just look up the synopsis and imagine how it would be and then you have seen this movie. Not my favourite and pretty unremarkable.

rating: 4.1/10

Watcher

Movie | 2022 | Chloe Okuno


25/11/2023

this movie was pretty good! most interesting thing about it was how tightly you were kept in the main characters perspective. She was an USAmerican who had moved to Romania with her husband and couldn't really speak the language, so whole swathes of the movie were in Romanian and inaccessable to her and a non Romanian speaking audience. Even with subtitles the most information typically conveyeyd was "speaks romanian". I imagine that if you knew the language this movie would be far less interesting? Or perhaps just interesting in a different way.

rating: 6.7/10

Blood On The Tracks

Album | 1975 | Bob Dylan


26/11/2023

i stay serious in thinking this is one of the best albums ever made. certainly one of my favourites (if not my favourite). This album is amazing, I feel like i was going a certain direction in my life and then i listened to this album for the first time in september/october and it was like ope,, time to never be the same ever again.

You'll never know the hurt I suffered

Nor the pain I rise above

And I'll never know the same about you

Your holiness or your kind of love

And it makes me feel so sorry

rating: 10/10

Blue Neighbourhood

Album | 2015 | Troye Sivan


26/11/2023

Favourite Tracks: FOOLS, EASE, COOL, YOUTH, TOO GOOD

after reviewing bob here earlier today it got me thinking about other albums that changed the course of my life, and this album was the first one i thought of. I first listened to this the year after it came out in 2016, and when i say this album had a profound effect on my developing psyche i'm not kidding. Troye Sivan even became my first goddamn gay crush (though year 5 me wasn't aware of the transgender yet). Because of all this baggage my reatings are distorted obviously, but I still like this album and it did change my life so there is that. Acctually still in the last tracks I just wanted to sneak this in before the day ends (23:36 right now) but by the time i finish typing i'll probably be done so its kosher,the listen was today!

I see swimming pools and living rooms and aeroplanes

I see a little house on the hill and children's names

I see quiet nights poured over ice and Tanqueray

But everything is shattering and it's my mistake

Only fools fall for you, only fools

Fucks? lived rent free in my young brain for sure and the melody goes hard. Pretty sure kid me didn't even know what tanqueray was and just said something random until he googled it,,, its ok its gin buddy we know now

rating: 7.0/10

Bloom

Album | 2018 | Troye Sivan


27/11/2023

Favourite Tracks: My My My!, Lucky Strike, The Good Side

yeah its 00:30 and i listened to this right after blue neighbourhood what of it? umm is this better than blue neighbourhood? probably,, but do i like it more? no. maybe its nostalgia biting at the ankles. i loved this album too when it first came out much like blue neighbourhood but it didnt reset my brain because blue neighbourhood already did that?

Lucky Strike is a transcendent track though,, possibly in like my top 5 favourite troye sivan tracks,, though this might be me just being dramatic who knowws.

YOU TASTE LIKE LUCKY STRIKES YOU DRAG I LIGHT BOYYYY

rating: 7.0/10

In A Dream

EP | 2020 | Troye Sivan


27/11/2023

Favourite Tracks: Take Yourself Home, STUD, Rager teenager!, IN A DREAM

this album makes me feel like i should be drunk.

rating: 7.5/10

Saw

Movie | 2004 | James Wan


27/11/2023

yep liked it

rating: 7.2/10

Good Will Hunting

Movie | 1997 | Gus Van Sant


28/11/2023

I loved this movie, but I always love gus van sant. I was not prepared for the sheer critical quantity of elliot smith songs in this bitch. every character was hot and the storyline was great.

I had to see about a girl.

rating: 8.8/10

Saw 2

Movie | 2005 | Darren Lynn Bousman


29/11/2023

i liked the final concept of this movie and the way it concluded, did that make watching the body of the film less terrible? no.

rating: 6.2/10

Southbound

Album | 1966 | Doc Watson


29/11/2023

Favourite Tracks: Walk On Boy, Alberta, Southbound, Windy And Warm-Instrumental, Tennessee Stud, That Was The Last Thing On My Mind, Never No More Blues

What to say about this album. For the amount that I love individual Doc Watson songs (particularly Alberta) I am shocked that it took me this long to listen to this full thing. I am so glad I did because goddamn this album is a treat.

I guess its time to talk about my first love, Alberta. I actually don't have the words to describe how much I love this song (I know makes for brilliant review material). I am so sorry for everyone who I have forced to listen to this song while I stare at them to try and beam my feelings about it into their brains.

Her hair lit the world with its golden glow

And the smile on her face burned my heart away

Its amazing that a song can be so short and contain the amount of emotion that Doc is able to convey. It is in the lyrics but also his voice and the accompanying guitar (yeah you have to listen to this whole album). There is something about the way all of his musical elements marry together that make me feel emotions I couldn't feel properly on my own, and its so enchanting when that stuff is facilitated by music, and of course thats what folk music is about a lot of the time.

Alberta what's on your mind

Alberta what's on your mind

My heart is so sad 'cause you treat me so bad

Alberta what's on your mind

initially when I was logging this album I gave it a 9.5,,, but I must be honest with myself, this album is a personal 10, its actually perfect, Doc can join Bob in my own personal brain-based hall of fame.

to finish we will have some lyrics from That Was The Last Thing On My Mind, but before that I have to sing the praises of Tennessee Stud because my god is it a slap daddy of a tune. The instrumental is awesome and the storyline is awesome and the horses are in love too!!!

You got reasons a-plenty for goin'

This I know, this I know

For the weeds have been steadily growin'

Please don't go, please don't go

Are you goin' away with no words of farewell?

Can there be not a trace left behind?

I could have loved you better, didn't mean to be unkind

You know, that was the last thing on my mind

rating: 10/10

Satanic Messiah EP

EP | 2023 | The Mountain Goats


1/12/2023

Favourite Track: Wizard Buys A Hat

Nice short EP, only 4 tracks, all of them are solid Mountain Goats songs. If you like acoustic mountain goats you will like this. Name your own price on bandcamp!

rating: 7/10

Pearl

Movie | 2022 | Ti West


2/12/2023

this is a good movie if anyone is looking for a new horror movie to watch i would reccomend this. great horror elements, slower build but i fucked with the pacing and all of the actors did a great job.

a protagonist i didn't love relating to lol

rating: 8.1/10

The Virgin Suicides

Movie | 1999 | Sofia Coppola


8/12/2023

I can't tell whether in doing this film Coppola subverts stereotypes or whether she just like, puts them in front of you and goes 'hey look at these'.

would like to read more about this movie from people who are smarter than me

rating: 7.1/10

Sex, Lies, and Videotape

Movie | 1989 | Steven Soderbergh


8/12/2023

damn good flick

loved the sister

rating: 8/10

Score

Movie | 1973 | Radley Metzger


8/12/2023

i dont know what i'm supposed to say about this movie,,,,,, "arrow with an arrow through it" is an unironically funny/good tattoo idea

rating: 6.4/10

Candy

Movie | 2006 | Neil Armfield


9/12/2023

heartbreaking movie for sure. very good

rating: 8.4/10

The Godfather

Movie | 1972 | Francis Ford Coppola


10/12/2023

this movie is good obviously. a bit long for my taste tbh. yeah 8.1, maybe i'm uncultured or whatever

rating: 8.1/10

MUSIC

Album | 2023 | ROLROLROL


11/12/2023

Favourite Tracks: POP, WHEELER DEALER, SEDAN, BIG GUTS, TIME

listened to tracks off this but full project from start to finish first timmme today!

awesome electro-jazz album,,, pop-y and full of energy and levity a great listen

rating: 8.2/10

The Dark Knight

Movie | 2008 | Christopher Nolan


12/12/2023

christian bale hot hot hot

loved heaths fagalicious swag

hated the last lines from the gordster,,, cringed it up fr

rating: 7.5/10

Before Sunset

Movie | 2004 | Richard Fuckin Linklater


12/12/2023

ok light me up light me on fire i know this movie is beloved but its fuckin boring i'm sorry. its not even that i don't like linklater,,, i have a history off liking his ass and i did love waking life,,, but thus movie dude. maybe its that i don't care for a romance focused story, if this could be called that? because this shit reminded me of when harry met sally which sucks ass (i know also unpopular). The best part of this movie was the goddamn cat.

the actual best part of this movie was finishing it for one reason,,, when i began this i didn't realise it was linklater, and like the whole time i was thinking "hey this kinda pointless pure conversation style reminds me of linklaters ass but more boring." the pure sense of euphoria i felt when seeing it was in fact linklater in the credits was golden,,, but thats only because it made me feel smart somewhere inside.

not as if they were having extraordinarily boring conversations but just that they weren't saying anything particularly insightful while the movie felt like it was screaming "THERE IS INSIGHT HERE" at me. ummm, well acted, but you couldn't pay me to genuinely give a fuck about anyone but the cat.

rating: 6.2/10

The Low End Theory

Album | 1991 | A Tribe Called Quest


16/12/2023

Favourite Tracks: Verses from the Abstract, Vibes and Stuff, Check the Rhime, Everything Is Fair, Jazz (We've Got), Skypager, Scenario

i'm glad i listened to this three times and not just one before the log. tbh on first listen this album disappointed me,, because i knew it was a jazz rap album i was really building it up and expecting to love it wholeheartedly off rip. after i let go of what i was expecting this to sound like i enjoyed it thoroughly, legendary for a reason for sure.

rating: 8.1/10

Atrocity Exhibition

Album | 2016 | Danny Brown


16/12/2023

Favourite Tracks: Downward Spiral, Tell Me What I Don't Know, Really Doe, Lost, Dance In The Water, Hell For It

mmmhmmm

rating: 8.0/10

12 Angry Men

Movie | 1957 | Sidney Lumet


22/12/2023

classic for a reason

rating: 9.1/10

Whiplash

Movie | 2014 | Damien Chazelle


22/12/2023

this movie seems like it was genetically engineered in a lab to be the exact movie for my dumbass to watch

you make a bitch autistic as fuck, the worst, and into jazz and IM IN,,, doesn't hurt that this is beautiful to look at either

rating: 9.2/10

The God Strategy: How Religion Became a Political Weapon In America

Book | 2008 | David Domke, Kevin Coe


28/12/2023

This book was interesting, intense reverence for the founding fathers was a bit much for me in there but it was well composed and well researched

at many times boring too i might add

rating: 7/10

Hypermasculine

Album | 2023 | Tommy Fleece


3/1/2024

Favourite Tracks: Heroin,Tethered, Pour Me Out, Hypermasculine

a good sophomore album in that like, hyperpop adjacent category, tommy fleece is an exciting artist can't wait for the next project

rating: 7.7/10

Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me

Movie | 1992 | David Lynch


5/1/2024

good movie, was told it was graphic but i was still surprised by how graphic it was, gave me a much needed break from twin peaks S3 which is fatiguing me a bit in its pacing.

soundtrack is awesome as twin peaks/lynch stuff always is, a real indication by angelo badlamenti is a gem would heartily recommend listening to it

rating: 8.5/10

Unfollow: A Journey From Hatred to Hope

Book | 2019 | Megan Phelps-Roper


5/1/2024

ggood book

rating: 8/10

Arkham Asylum: A Serious House on Serious Earth

Comic Book | 1989 | Grant Morrison (writer), Dave McKean (illustrator)


5/1/2024

i think my enjoyment of this as a storyline and a thing that adds to other r things was severely limited by the fact that I know nothing about batman. Read this because dad came into my room yesterday like "hey i found this thought you would like the art", and indeed i did!! this book is visually stunning and indeed the art is the main reason for my 6.6 stars, barring the jokers fagalicious swag (as always), and some banger lines:

don't they understand? don't they see i'm breaking in a thousand places?

rating: 6.6/10

Saltburn

Movie | 2023 | Emerald Fennell


6/1/2024

looks absolutely beautiful don't get me wrong,,,,, lost an entire star and a half for the "well folks, this is how we got here" explanitory knives out bullshit at the end. bad storytelling for me sorry!! like tjust with the way the moovie played out we understand oliver is decietful and ruthless right? so to have an "aha! this is how i did it all! i'm a mastermind from the beggining" speech is just lazy and annoying dude. this was better than knives out which is not hard that movie is a pile of shit. his this looks beautiful its so beautiful, if i want to see something thats beautiful i will watch something else.

rating: 6.5/10

You Were Never Really Here

Movie | 2017 | Lynne Ramsay


6/1/2024

rating: 7.9/10

Ege Bamyasi

Album | 1972 | Can


15/1/24

Favourite Tracks: Pinch, Soup, Vitamin C, I'm So Green

a classic, you can hear how influential this was. love the jazzy feel too

rating: 9.2/10

The Fly

Movie | 1986 | David Cronenberg


19/01/24

this sure was a film

rating: 6.6/10

It

Movie | 1990 | Tommy Lee Wallace


19/01/2024

this movie was very good. quite long. tim curry was on point perfect casting. did also love bill skarsgard as pennywise in the newer films bit as soon as i saw tim curry i was like wow thats genius casting.

rating: 8.1/10

The Lazarus Effect

Movie | 2015 | David Gelb


19/01/2024

bit of a stinker

rating: 3.4/10

Phenomena

Movie | 1985 | Dario Argento


20/01/2024

seeing the bitchass doctor from the halloween series in this was a jumpsccare and a half

ummm this movie was weird i liked it though. the maggot vat full of decomposing dead bodies was yucky. how did this woman put her head underneath it and surely get some in her mouth and just bounce back like that?

rating: 6.5/10

Alien

Movie | 1979 | Ridley Scott


20/01/2024

hey good movie

ridley was so hot in this

rating: 8.4/10

Silent Hill

Movie | 2006 | Christophe Gans


20/01/2024

this was fine-ish

rating: 5.4/10

A Nightmare On Elm Street

Movie | 1984 | Wes Craven


21/01/2024

this was a good movie. freddie is a way more compelling villain than other r slasher type villains (coughcough michael myers)

rating: 8.4/10

A Nightmare On Elm Street: Freddy's Revenge

Movie | 1985 | Jack Sholder


21/01/2024

not so good

rating: 5.7/10

A Nightmare On Elm Street 3: Dream Warriors

Movie | 1987 | Chuck Russel


21/01/2024

the head psychologist guy in this movie is ridiculous and should not be allowed to be a medical professional. "phillip killed himself, that was a cowardly thing to do. he let himself down, he let us all down." real sentence this man said in a group therapy session

rating: 3.1/10

Poor Things

Movie | 2023 | Yorgos Lanthimos


21/01/2024

yeop

rating: 8.1/10

A Nightmare On Elm Street 4: The Dream Master

Movie | 1988 | Renny Harlin


21/01/2024

umm less bad than the last one.i can forgive a lot of cringe (weirdly poignant dream themed history class), but freddy being destroyed by his own reflection is something i can not forgive

rating: 5.6/10

A Nightmare On Elm Street 5: The Dream Child

Movie | 1989 | Stephen Hopkins


22/01/2024

when l. ron hubbard talked about in utero engrams he was actually talking about this movie

rating: 5.3/10

Freddy's Dead: The Final Nightmare

Movie | 1991 | Rachel Talalay


22/01/2024

look look,,, maybe ive been fundamentally tarnished by the last 5 of these that ive watched,,, but this one fucked just a little bit

rating: 6/10

Wes Craven's New Nightmare

Movie | 1994 | Wes Craven


22/01/2024

i was ready to hate wes cravens ass for this i was. because i hate shit like this. and i did hate like the first 50% of this movie at least and i was like wes your a stinky bastard for this but it really picked up in the second half. the most ok i have ever been with a piece of media thats in this sort of "the actos of the movie are actors in the movie franchise in universe and oh no the movvies are all real and bad things are happening but this is just their daily life man this aint a movie BUT THEY ARE MOVIE STARS IN THIS FRANCHISE IN THE MOVIE." this format my beloathed, this movie,, appropriate in the second half.

cant wait for neptune to become the next wes craven so i dont have to watch this one again (i wont watch it again regardless but you get the spirit)

rating: 6.3/10

A Nightmare On Elm Street

Movie | 2010 | Samuel Bayer


22/01/2024

dont watch this

this movie was a bad movie,, repressed memory mention which always smashes my gourdes. contained both an actress from supernatural (blonde ruby) and twilight (emmet) in the first 5 minutes which is more than my little heart can take. a garbage movie. frustrating changes to freddy's backstory itself, nooo he couldnt have just killed kids when he was alive, he needed to have implied violent rape and child porno things happening. it suffers from the same illness that all of these horror franchise remakes from the '00's and '10's do.

some shot for shot recreation happening here to. not something im strictly against provided that its like, done well and that the magic of the original framing is preserved. a shot which was so haunting in the original (bath scene) was recreated but just framed poorly? and its like great this just now looks bad. think i might make a lil article about these but dont hold me too it.

watch the original, skip this bullshit.

rating: 1/10

The Shining

Movie | 1980 | Stanley Kubrick


22/01/2024

we all know its great. fuck kubrick

rating: 10/10

Full Metal Jacket

Movie | 1987 | Stanley Kubrick


23/01/2024

good movie, not really the target audience i dont think im not super into war/combat movies but this one was well done and interesting

rating: 8.4/10

A Clockwork Orange

Movie | 1971 | Stanley Kubrick


23/01/2024

another great movie. this was hard to watch like for sure but i find the points it makes about 'curing bad' on an individual scale being inadequate and ineffective in current society to be salient. nice themes hard to watch, would be interested to read the book by the same name.

rating: 9.3/10

Hellraiser

Movie | 1987 | Clive Barker


25/01/2024

this movie was crazy. kinda confused as to why that guy turned into a dragon in the end there? ngl the demon guy with that semi circle through his cheeks was punk as fuck

rating: 7.8/10

Hellbound: Hellraiser 2

Movie | 1988 | Tony Randel


25/01/2024

i remain obsessed with the punk cenobite, can't believe i didnt notice she has a vulva carved into her throat in the first one

loved how flimsy the sets were, uncle whatever the fuck throwing kirsty against that 'brick' wall and seeing it dent and shake is awesome

pissed off at myself because now im gonna have to watch the other 9 of these fuckin movies aren't i

rating: 6.9/10

Hellraiser 3: Hell On Earth

Movie | 1992 | Anthony Hickox


26/01/2024

and the descent into shit begins my friends

rating: 5.6/10

The Colour Purple

Movie | 2023 | Blitz Bazawule


26/01/2024

rating: 8/10

Hellraiser: Bloodline

Movie | 1996 | Alan Smithee, Kevin Yagher


26/01/2024

it was like a back in time history type shit. worse than the last one,, trying to remember what i rated elm street ones because i feel like im rating these lower when im potentially enjoying them more (potentially)? but who needs consistency when you have pain

rating: 4.8/10

A Storm Of Swords 1: Steel and Snow

Book | 2000 | George R.R. Martin


26/01/2024

good

rating: 8.3/10

Hellraiser: Inferno

Movie | 2000 | Scott Derrickson


27/01/2024

i hated this movie. premise: what if police brutality for an hour? but dont worry dear viewer at the end you will find out hes been in hell this whole time maybe

nah this was shit. critical lack of cenobites, and also a disgusting self important narration track from the cop main character.

nope i hated this shit, watched it over the span of two days. i walked away from my computer, pissed, had a conversation with my mum, and had a glass of juice and walked back up my stairs with this playing and didnt miss anything i cared to see.

rating: 1.5/10

Hellraiser: Hellseeker

Movie | 2002 | Rick Bota


27/01/2024

basically the same plot as the last one but this was better

uhm return of our girl kirsty,,, fuck em up girl i guess

rating: 2.7/10

Hellraiser: Deader

Movie | 2005 | Rick Bota


28/01/2024

ok this was terrible and i hate this new cenobite deprived format but this gets a bump for that goth sex club on the public train

rating: 3.8/10

Hellraiser: Hellworld

Movie | 2005 | Rick Bota


28/01/2024

someone find rick bota iva got shit to say

rating: 2.1/10

Hellraiser: Revelations

Movie | 2011 | Victor Garcia


28/01/2024

i dont know anymore guys

rating: bad/10

Hellraiser: Judgement

Movie | 2018 | Gary J. Tunnicliffe


28/01/2024

look at me,, look at me. this is one of the worst horror movies ive ever seen. as a standalone it would be bad, but in the context of the series, especially thinking fondly back on the first like, two, this is the worst shit i have ever seen. i liked this less than the narraty cop one (because you know this is another cop one, so the clarifier of "narraty" or not becomes important).

the main cenobite we saw was just a tory. why were their so many women bowing down on their knees. why was there a fucking angel. what made hellraiser lore more fun in the beginning was it didnt really ascribe to a christian idea of hell. there was never clarity on the existence of a place like heaven, the place the cenobites were that people were called to was a place they entered by solving a puzzle. yes they had to die to enter but first they opt'ed inm whether accidentally or on purpose. it was hell but it was about the line between pleasure and pain and like "absolute sensation" or whatever. but this, this fucking movie said "what if there was an angel that saved him? what if it was just torture? what if you were tried for your sins? what if we sucked the magic and questioning out of the original wierd and undeniebly genderfuck kinky movie? don't worry its still kinky theres a bunch of women naked on their knees bowing, every female "cenobite" you see actually."

fuck you and the horse you rode in on this movie is fucking terrible

rating: 0.5/10

Hellraiser

Movie | 2022 | David Bruckner


29/01/2024

suffered from the disease of too fuckin long, and was painfully mid

letterbox'd user Jacob Knight has a great review which i agree with, and the movie can be summarised with his statement of "it never dares to be truly daring and wierd"

rating: 4.9/10

Swiss Army Man

Movie | 2016 | Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert


this movie was kinda wierd i fucked with it though

rating: 7/10

I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings

Book (Autobiography) | 1969 | Maya Angelou


2/02/2024

this was a great autobiography, i know maya angelou has a lot so i might have to pick up the second one

rating: 8.7/10

Friday The 13th

Movie | 1980 | Sean S. Cunningham


4/02/2024

good movie

hated the low frame pickup thing when she killed that bitch at the end

rating: 7.4/10

Friday The 13th Part 2

Movie | 1981 | Steve Miner


4/02/2024

this is certainly worse than the last one by a couple of degrees. mad because my prediction that post "death" we would get a shot of jasons hand grabbing the mask to put back on his head didnt happen.

rating: 6.6/10

Percy Jackson and The Olympians

TV Show | 2023 | James Bobin


6-7/02/2024

enjoyable show, well made and the perfect older kids/younger teens show formula where it would be great for the young age group while also entertaining for adults/parents who watch with them. when i see that balance struck in shows imalways appreciate the creators

rating: 8/10

Soul Food

Album | 1995 | Goodie Mob


last couple of days/02/2024

Favourite Tracks: Free, Thought Process (feat. Andre 3000), Dirty South (feat. Big Boi & Cool Breeze), Cell Therapy, Sesame Street, Goodie Bag, I Didn't Ask To Come, The Coming (feat. Witchdoctor), The Day After

i mean what do i even have to say. this album is great, cell therapy is obviously the huge track off of this and it deserves it its such a vibe but the whole album is awesome. big favourite very good

lets hope my music reviews improve over the next couple of months, i have a class on music writing so i might use this place to practice lol who knows

rating: 9.5/10

Lunch Poems

Poetry Collection | 1964 | Frank O'Hara


9/02/2024

Favourite poems included (with page references): A Step Away From Them (18), Cambridge (20), Three Airs 3 (23), Song (26), Hotel Particular (39), Cornkind (40), Ave Maria (48), Steps (52), St Paul and All That (59), Yesterday Down at The Canal (61)

rating: 7.8/10

The Life Of Pi'erre 4

Album | 2019 | Pi'erre Bourne


9/02/2024

Favourite Tracks: Be Mine, Ballad, Romeo Must Die, Speed Dial

This album is kinda like one long 50 minute song

rating: 7.5/10

What Would The Community Think

ALbum | 1996 | Cat Power


15/02/2024

Favourite Tracks: Good Clean Fun, What Would The Community Think, Nude As the News, They Tell Me, Bathysphere, Enough, The Coat Is Always On

I love this album, becoming a go-to and I'm really into the palette that cat power created here. "Nude As The News" is the most popular song on this project for a good reason, it stands out from the lower tempo and more monotone tracks either side of it (What Would The Community Think before it, They Tell Me after it) with its more strained chorus as cat ventures closer to the top of her range. Of course, I also love the more low key and equally sad songs on this album, am definitely planning on listening to Moon Pix soon.

rating: 9.1/10

Give Me Convenience OR Give Me Death

Album | 1987 | Dead Kennedys


17/02/2024

Favourite Tracks: Police Truck, Too Drunk To Fuck, California Uber Alles, The Man With The Dogs, Insight,Life Sentence, Holiday in Cambodia, I Fought The Law

reading a book called Punk Productions so I have been relistening to this album,, a classic

rating: 8.7/10

SCRAPYARD

ALbum | 2024 | Quadeca


18/02/2024

Favourite Tracks: A LA CARTE (ft. brakence), EASIER, EVEN IF I TRIED, WHATT'S IT TO HIM?, U DON'T KNOW ME LIKE THAT, GUESS WHO?, UNDER MY SKIN, TEXAS BLUE (with Kevin Abstract)

i'm not yelling at u its just stylised like that okay?

rating: 8/10

shrines

Album | 2012 | Purity Ring


19/02/2024

Favourite Tracks: crawlersout, fineshrine, ungirthed, amenamy, cartographist, belispeak, lofticries

trying to log things that i already listen to/like and not just new stuff if i haven't logged them before so boom, shrines by purity ring

i think the first time i listened to this album wassss somewhere in the range of 2019-2021 idk not super sure, bangs tho

rating: 9/10

Crying, Laughing, Loving, Lying

Album | 1972 | Labi Siffre


24/02/2024

Favourite Tracks: Saved, Cannock Chase, It Must Be Love, Love Oh Love Oh Love, "Crying, Laughing, Loving, Lying", My song

Cannock Chase lives in my mind at all times

rating: 9.2/10

Free Sex

Album | 2023 | Chris Crack


24/01/2024

Favourite Tracks: The Troll That Never Folds, Free Food At House Parties, Trip Sitters Are The Best Friends, Elon Was Sent To Destroy Twitter, Flax Seeds Look Like Water Bugs, I Used To Meow Before Meeting You, Uncle Phil On Family Matters, Bible Study At Miss Shirley House, Black People Always Pass The Vibe Check

any album that begins with the line "aye sex with me is always trash" will capture me immediately lol

rating: 7.8/10

Living In Oblivion

Movie | 1995 | Tom DiCillo


24/02/2024

i really liked this movie. was obsessed with the black and white to colour shots, overall highly enjoyed

rating: 8.4/10

Sonicwonderland

Album | 2023 | Hiromi


1/03/2024

Favourite Tracks: Polaris, Up, Reminiscence (ft. Oli Rockberger), Trial and error

just a great contemporary jazz album. when listening to the whole thing oli rockberger's vocal on reminiscence feels jarring at the beginning, his gruff sort of tonally thin delivery coming in on an otherwise vocal free project is kinda like "wow, why" but then the little descending refrain "i miss you but i am learning to let it go" makes the track click for me and highlights it as a beautiful love song moment on the record.

rating: 8.9/10

3D Country

Album | 2023 | Geese


2/03/2024

Favourite Tracks: 2122, 3D Country, Cowboy Nudes, I See Myself, Undoer, Crusades, Tomorrow's Crusades, St. Elmo

we all know how much i love 4D country (the EP that followed this album), so i dont know why it took me so long to fully listen to this, and no surprise this is also great. geese's unique sound continues cannot wait for the next project.

i see myself in you :)

rating: 10/10

Songs About Leaving

Album | 2010 | Carissa's Wierd


2/03/2024

Favourite Track: (March 19th 1983) It Was Probably Green

not for me. not a bad album by any means but just not my kind of sad album, bit one note for me, like it when the violin comes in.

rating: 5.4/10

Whenever, If Ever

Album | 2013 | The World Is A Beautiful Place & I Am No Longer Afraid To Die


2/03/2024

Favourite Tracks: Heartbeat in the Brain, Getting Sodas, Picture of a Tree That Doesn't Look Okay

ummm, i don't have much to say. i liked the screamo counter melodies when they happened, and my two favourites on this are good. this album is fine

rating: 6.5/10

The Princess And The Frog

Movie | 2009 | Ron Clements, John Musker


6/03/2024

gassss

rating: 8/10

Wallsocket

Album | 2023 | underscores


Favourite Tracks: Cops and robbers, Locals (Girls like us), Duhhhhhhhhhhh, You don't even know who I am, "Shoot to kill, kill your darlings", Seventyseven dog years, Good luck final girl

this album is awesome regret putting off listening to it. i had heard and liked Locals (Girls like us) and the whole project is great,,, glad i got the re reccomendation

rating: 9/10

Vide Noir

Album | 2018 | Lord Huron


9/03/2024

Favourite Tracks:Ancient Names (Part 1), Ancient Names (Part 2), Back From The Edge, The Balancer's Eye

like it

rating: 8.2/10

Escapades

Album | 2021 | Gaspard Auge, Justice


9/03/2024

Favourite Tracks: Rocambole, Pentacle, Captain, Lacrimosa, Belladone, Reverie

some nice sounds here, good listening for while your reading something (for me at least). Sorry to this artist for not accenting their name or some of the track titles, my only defence is im lazy.

rating: 7.8/10

Goodnight Mommy

Movie | 2014 | Severin Fiala, Veronika Franz


9/03/2024

pretty decent when you dont pay attention when they spoil the twist in the first five minutes

rating: 6.4/10

Appaloosa Bones

ALbum | 2023 | Gregory Alan Isakov


10/03/2024

Favourite Tracks: The Fall, Appaloosa Bones, Silver Bell, Terlingua, One Day, Feed Your Horses

i like this guys voice and im into the lyrics. instrumentation is sweet as.

rating: 8.3/10

Them: Adventures With Extremists

Book | 2000 | Jon Ronson


18/03/2024

great book hard to put down

rating: 9/10

The Craft

Movie | 1996 | Andrew Fleming


19/03/2024

all in on the goth lesbian

rating: 6.5/10

Dune

Movie | 2021 | Denis Villeneuve


19/03/2024

rewatching the first one because i am seeing the second one tonight in the ~cinema~

good movie excited for the new one

rating: 8.1/10

Dune: Part Two

Movie | 2024 | Denis Villeneuve


19/03/2024

lot of great worm content in this. the smooth dudes sure make me uncomfortable but i fuck with the lighting on the smooth planet the long way (friend tells me it was shot with infrared cameras). the mum became a terrible person obviously but into the face tats. would hate to be one of those standard bearers in the fight near the end how do you defend yourself as a standard bearer??? umm yeah yeah main bene geserit lady remains sick as fuck, evil bitch with the box im into her machinations. so sad that the dad died in the first one because there was no oscar issaac but i made it through. missed a long bit of that prayer chanting but there was a wack of it in the beginning before the title card and the worm content made up for it. hated it when the two smooth dudes kissed twice. i want to know what the tar bath the wet guy gets into does and why hes always there.

on the hunt for the first book (only in the rare books collection at the uni library, had a read in library policy at the state library, all 8 copies are checked out from the city library) we will find it though

rating: 8.7/10

if only we could read between the lines we have drawn.

Album | 2024 | pneumonia.


22/03/2024

Favourite Tracks: creativity for attention sake, means to an end, you make the bed you lay in, these weeds were cut by dull knives, an empty apartment

good hardstyle album. heaviest thing about it is the vocals, the accompany8ing instrumentation is more lowkey. i liked the sampling a lot i think it added to the narrative of the album and added some interest and seperation from other bands. wish that lyrics of this album existed, the vocalist is talented i wish i knew what they were saying. can't deny that its emotional hardcore from the valley.

rating: 7.8/10

QWERTY II

Album | 2024 | Saya Gray


28/03/2024

Favourite Tracks: "..YOU, A FOOL", 2 2 BOOTLEG, AA BOUQUET FOR YOUR 180 FACE, ! MAVIS BEACON, RRRate MY KAWAII CAKE

just released today another great album by Saya love her music so much

really into the bass and instrumentation on this album. even some rockin gguitars on ..YOU, A FOOL to open it up. i absolutly love the ethereal instrumentation on 19 MASTERS and it is a perfect album for me just because of the time i found it/its role in my life but this album is an awesome artistic evolution for her.

rating: 9.6/10

Looking For Alaska

Book | 2005 | John Green


02/04/2024

rereading this book because neptune said that the librarian shouldn't've handed it to 11 year old them to read for book club and i'd forgotten the intricacies of what happened. good book i like it a lot.

rating: 7.8/10

Captain Fantastic

Movie | 2016 | Matt Ross


03/04/2024

i verily much enjoyed this movie. power to the people stick it to the man.

rating: 8.3/10

The Call

Movie | 2020 | Lee Chung-hyun


05/04/2024

this movie fucked my mind. me, my dad and my brother had to sit and pdiscuss this ending for like a solid 20 minutes with the assistence of a screenrant article which cleared up our rampant speculation

rating: 9.2/10

Anatomy of a Fall

Movie | 2023 | Justine Triet


05/04/2024

i actually watched this before the call sorry im a faker.

watched this with dad at the movies this was a really captivating movie and i liked it a lot. helped that i got to look at swann arlaud (this movie was aweesome it wasn't just swann being hot)

rating: 8.5/10

Cheat Codes

Album | 2022 | Black Thought and Danger Mouse


13/04/2024

Favourite Tracks: No Gold Teeth, Because, Belize, Aquamarine, Strangers, Saltwater

this album is fucking fire

rating: 10/10

Videodrome

Movie | 1983 | David Cronenberg


14/04/2024

uhhhhmmm

rating: 6.5/10

Fup

Book | 1983 | Jim Dodge


20/04/2024

rating: 7.6/10

The Einstein Intersection

Book | 1967 | Samuel R. Delany


26/04/2024

rating: 8.4/10

Killer Klowns From Outer Space

Movie | 1988 | Stephen Chiobo


30/04/2024

this movie is fucking fire

rating: 9/10

Dune 2

Movie | 2024 | Denis Villeneuve


30/04/2024

rewatched

rating: 8.7/10

I Love My Mom

Album | 2018 | Indigo De Souza


5-7/05/2024

Favourite Tracks: How I Get Myself Killed, Take Off Ur Pants, What Are We Gonna Do Now, Ghost, The Sun Is Bad

VG.

rating: 8.5/10